Page Hero - Alumni and Donors

Welcome Alumni and Donors

Navigation Menu

Leadership Council Intro

Alumni Leadership Council and Staff

The Alumni Association is represented by its Leadership Council which is made up of members elected by alumni. There are 12 Leadership Council members, who are guided by an Executive Committee consisting of a president, vice president, second vice president, and secretary. Members serve a term of three years and represent the diverse background of the Excelsior College alumni population.

2016-2017 Alumni Leadership Council

Group photo 2016-2017 council members


Dwayn Hanford, BS '05
Springfield, VA
Serving 2014-2017

First Vice President
Shelia A. Scott, BS '02
Hickory, NC
Serving 2016-2019

Second Vice President
J. Kane Tomlin, BS '12, MCJ '14
Panama City, Florida
Serving 2015-2018

Sandra Butterfield, BS in Nursing '86
Spring Valley, CA
Serving 2014-2017

Mark A. Bowman, BS '00
Houston, Texas
Serving 2016-2019

Sterling Brown, AS '96, BS '98
Denver, Colorado
Serving 2016-2019

Daniel L. Coberly, AS '77, BS '84
Hazel Green, AL
Serving 2016-2019

Jennifer Gentry, AS in Nursing '04, BS in Nursing '11, MS in Nursing '15
Portland, TX
Serving 2014-2017

Edgar Montalvo, BS '97
Tinley Park, Illinois
Serving 2016-2019

Ronald Tosto, BPT '12
Walnut Creek, CA
Serving 2015-2018

Renee Kelly, Director of Alumni Affairs

Interested in Joining?

If you're an interested alum who is passionate about Excelsior and cares about the future of the College and the value of your degree, then use your personal combination of skills and expertise to give back to Excelsior by applying for the Alumni Leadership Council. Your contribution of thoughts, ideas, and enthusiasm in support of the College will help the Alumni Association develop programs and services valuable to your fellow alumni.

Deadline: The deadline for applications was January 15. Applicants who are selected by the Nominations Committee were notified by April 1 and then be put forth on a ballot to the alumni-at-large for ratification in an open vote each spring between May 1-7.


Applicants must meet the following conditions:

  • Must be able to at