Excelsior College Gains Tech Industry Clout

Dr. Walter Buchanan, a member of the Excelsior College School of Business and Technology faculty, has recently been elected president of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), one of the most globally influential organizations for engineering education. He will serve as president-elect until July 2012, when he assumes the presidency.

“Professor Buchanan’s election serves as the most recent example of Excelsior’s growing prominence within the technology field – and among other colleges, including traditional campus-based programs within the capital region,” said Dr. Jane LeClair, dean of the School of Business and Technology. “Our increasing influence within the industry and the accomplishments of our faculty bolsters our ability to consistently attract the brightest minds from academia and the professional world.”

Excelsior faculty have served or continue to serve in leadership roles in a number of prominent national organizations including ABET, Inc., (which provides professional accreditation of engineering and technology programs), ASEE, American Nuclear Society (ANS), and IEEE, the world’s largest professional association for the advancement of technology.

In March, Excelsior hosted the ASEE – St. Lawrence Chapter annual conference, which brought together engineering educators and students from across New York and Canada, to share insights and strategies, and to explore new and effective educational techniques. Private companies in the technology industry are taking note as well: this past year, Excelsior has announced an educational agreement with National Grid.

Following is a partial list of Excelsior faculty who have been elected to notable national leadership positions in the technology field:

W. David Baker
Baker is past chair of the Engineering Technology Council (ETC) of ASEE, past president for the Council of Engineering Technology in New York State (CETNYS), and past chair, Engineering Technology Leadership Institute (ETLI). Baker has also served on the board of directors for the ASEE and is a winner of the prestigious ASEE McGraw Award for Excellence in Engineering Technology Education.

Dr. Walter Buchanan
In addition to being named president-elect at ASEE, taking over in July 2012, Buchanan is a past board member for the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) and is past chair of the Engineering Technology Council of ASEE. He is also a past recipient of the ASEE James H. McGraw Award, the ASEE Frederick J. Berger Award, as well as the NSPE Outstanding Service Award, and the International Conference on Engineering and Computer Education Award.

Mr. William Clark
Clark was elected chair of the Excelsior College Engineering Technology Industrial Advisory Committee from 2002-2005, served as president of ABET, Inc. (formerly the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) in 2006-2007 and was chair of its Technology Accreditation Commission (TAC) in 1994-1995.

Dr. Jane LeClair
Dr. LeClair, dean of Excelsior’s School of Business & Technology, is the immediate past chair of the ASEE – St. Lawrence section and was awarded the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Training Excellence Award 2005. She also served as chair of the ANS Education and Training Division in 2005, and is on the Education, Training, and Workforce Development Division Executive Committee. She serves as a member of the International Association of Journals & Conferences (IAJC) international review board.

Arnold Peskin
Peskin is a Fellow of ABET and winner of the Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Educational Activities Meritorious Achievement Award. He served on the board of directors of ABET (2005-2007) and the Educational Activities Board of IEEE (2008-2010), and was chair of the TAC of ABET for 1990-1991.

Dr. John Sammarco
In 2009, Sammarco, PhD, PE, senior research engineer, Department of Health and Human Services/CDC/NIOSH, was elected to the Executive Committee of TAC of ABET. In addition, Dr. Sammarco recently placed third in the IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications Prize Paper Award, captured the Bullard-Sherwood Research-to-Practice (r2p) Award in the Technology Category and was nominated for the 2011 Meritorious Achievement Award, to be announced in late June. Prior to that, he served as chair of the Institute of IEEE Committee for Technology Accredited Activities (CTAA), which implements IEEE involvement in TAC of ABET.