Page Hero - About Us

About Excelsior College

Course Registration Image


Graduate Awards

A variety of graduate awards are presented during the annual Awards Convocation to recognize outstanding achievement. While some awards are school-specific, others are open to eligible graduates throughout the College. Many of the awards require that you meet one or more criteria to be considered, and awardees are drawn from a pool of eligible individuals. Others allow you to nominate yourself.

More information about the 2012 award recipients is available in the Excelsior College Awards Convocation program.

2012 Convocation video

2012 Awards Convocation



All Graduates

Student Support Award

Award Recipient: Matthew Vito (nominated by Lisa Marie Joyce)

This self-nominated award is presented to a person (or persons) whose assistance and encouragement played a significant role in a graduate’s quest to earn an Excelsior College degree. 

Charles W. Laffin Jr. Memorial Award

Award Recipient: Shawn C. Manning

In recognition of Charles W. Laffin Jr., whose vision and leadership gave momentum to a fledgling community college movement and left a legacy of opportunity to millions of adult learners, and in gratitude for his invaluable service to Excelsior College, the faculty of the College presents this award for academic excellence and outstanding achievement.

Ewald B. Nyquist Award

Award Recipient: Brian Keith Taylor

In recognition of the leadership of Ewald B. Nyquist, founder of the College, who was determined to extend the quality of educational opportunity from kindergarten through college to learners everywhere, the Trustees of Excelsior College present this award for academic excellence and outstanding achievement in earning a degree through independent study.

Excelsior College® Examinations Award

No Award Recipient This Year

This award is presented by the Excelsior College Assessment Unit for demonstrated excellence in Excelsior College Examinations. Recognizing achievement of the highest standard score on a group of the College's exams taken during the previous calendar year, the award annually honor one examinee in