Alumni Leadership Council

The Alumni Leadership Council (ALC) consists of 12 members reflecting the diverse nature of Excelsior’s alumni population. ALC members serve 3-year terms. Membership nominations are accepted during December and January each year. The nominations committee notifies selected applicants by April 1 and places their names on a ballot for ratification by the alumni community in an open online vote between May 1-7.

You must agree to the following requirements if elected:

  • Attend Commencement and related activities in Albany, NY each year in July. Travel and lodging costs are covered by Excelsior University, per Excelsior’s travel policy for ALC members.
  • Consent to a background check.
  • Make a financial contribution to the Excelsior University Annual Fund in an amount of your choosing.
  • Participate in regularly scheduled teleconferences/webinars and occasional regional events.
  • Be available for publicity events, articles, and similar activities.

If you apply for a seat on the ALC and an alumni award (or multiple awards), selection for one will automatically disqualify you from being considered for the others.


President: Tony Spearman-Leach, BS ’92
First Vice President: Walter Were, BS ’05
Secretary: Ruth Lown Turman, BS ’96


Jason Copeland, BS ’14
Don (Pat) Geiger, BS ’07
Timothy G. Leaks, BS ’19, MS ’22
Steven Marciano, BS ’18, MS ’21
Douglas Perry, BS ’78
Oliver Queen Jr., BS ’06
Samuel T. Watkins Jr., BS ’99
James Wright, BS ’99